[News] Short Details of New Merged Marriott / SPG / Ritz-Carlton Program


Perhaps most importantly none of the worst fears that followed Marriott’s acquisition of Starwood appear to have panned out. Yesterday Marriott had revealed the full details of their new loyalty program, as they merge Marriott Rewards, Ritz-Carlton Rewards, and Starwood Preferred Guest, into a single loyalty program. The changes will go into effect August 1st. From that point forward stays across Marriott, Ritz-Carlton, and Starwood will all count towards elite status in the same program and elite recognition will be provided across most hotels. Points will all be converted at the same rate of 1 Starwood point to 3 Marriott points in a singular currency.

Here are some of the major things to expect:

  • There will be five elite tiers:
  • Silver at 10 nights
  • Gold at 25 nights
  • Platinum at 50 nights
  • Platinum Premier at 75 nights
  • Platinum Premier with Ambassador service at 100 nights plus $20,000 of spend
  • All Platinum members and above will receive complimentary suite upgrades subject to availability at all properties.
  • Platinum members will receive five confirmed Suite Night Awards per year, and Platinum Premier members will receive a further five Suite Night awards per year.
  • Breakfast is being expanded to Courtyards and to resorts.
  • Airline mileage transfers are here to stay at the current rates.

For this year, Marriott will be matching elite tiers as follows:

Here’s a chart comparing the elite benefits by tier:

Members will earn 10 points per dollar spent with Marriott, so when you include elite bonuses:

  • Base members will earn 10 points per US dollar.
  • Silver members will earn 11 points per US dollar.
  • Gold members will earn 12.5 points per US dollar.
  • Platinum members will earn 15 points per US dollar.
  • Platinum Premier members will earn 17.5 points per US dollar.

Here’s a chart comparing the earning rates across programs before and after:

Photo Credit: The Points Guy

Starting from August 1st, there will be a new award chart used for all hotels, with Categories 1 ~ 8. For the remainder of 2018, all hotels will have “standard” pricing, while starting in 2019 we’ll see both “off-peak” and “peak” pricing. Here’s the new Marriott Rewards redemption chart:

Marriott is now the world’s largest hotel group, and in particular Marriott Rewards has a ton of super frequent guests, so I knew it would be a challenge to build a combined program. There’s a lot I like here. There are things I don’t like. But compared to what some of us feared might happen with the merger the new program details are far better than that.

Leave a Reply Text

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please enter Google Username or ID to start!
Example: clip360net or 116819034451508671546
File name
Link to
  Open new windows
  Rel nofollow