[News] Marriott Hotel Category Changes Revealed (Starting from August 2018)


Marriott has just released the full detail of hotel category changes starting from August 2018! You can access the detail here (click me). As a reminder, here’s Marriott’s award chart starting in August, as well as their Cash + Points award chart:

Note that for the remainder of 2018, Marriott will price all hotels in Category 1-7, and will only price hotel at the standard level. Category 8 pricing, as well as peak and off-peak pricing, will be introduced in 2019. What I can tell based on the above chart is that the St. Regis Maldives and St. Regis Bora Bora will be bookable for 85,000 Marriott Rewards points per night, but right now it will be bookable for 60,000 Marriott points for the remainder of the 2018, since Category 8 isn’t being introduced until 2019.

I think I will try book top properties in before 2019. Those high-end properties may be tough to get given new more narrow standard room definitions. There will be a huge savings compared to Starwood original redemption standard. Therefore, you may want to book those high-end resorts / hotels as soon as possible since it should be getting more popular!

Leave a Reply Text

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please enter Google Username or ID to start!
Example: clip360net or 116819034451508671546
File name
Link to
  Open new windows
  Rel nofollow